The Severn Forum: Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 13 October 2015

The Meeting was chaired by Rt. Revd. David Jennings; Professor Ken Davey acted as Secretary. There were approximately 95 Members and guests present for the AGM, including the President, Bishop Martin Snow. Apologies were received from three Members.

1. Formal acceptance of the Minutes of the 2014 AGM

The Minutes of the 2014 AGM had previously been circulated and were accepted by the Meeting.

2. Chairman's Report

Ladies and Gentlemen,

In 2015 we have once again had excellent lectures

It was a particular delight to have Professor Andrew Lincoln who is such a regular attender at Severn forum lectures, to lecture to us on a reexamination of Jesus conception in canon, christology and creed. Professor Clack made us think as she addressed the issue of mortality in a neoliberal age. Roger Ruston's lecture was topical at the time of the anniversary ry of the signing of Magna Carta and tonight we eagerly look forward to John Bell's lecture.

Tonight at the end of five years as Chair, thanks are due to all of you who come so regularly to the lectures and those who have discovered them tonight and will want to come in the future! Particular thanks are due to those who make these lectures happen – to Bob Daniels and in the last year, Ken Davey, the Secretaries; to Victor Vine and then in the last twelve months Fred Bach, our Treasurers, not forgetting the work of Deborah Jones who held that fort for a year in between; to Deborah in the huge job she does as Programme Secretary, a considerable task; to Dee Carter for the negotiations she does with the University, Arthur Burgess for keeping the Membership lists and being on the door, to Alison Evans for the ecumenical links, Rob Cook and Mike Irving for their huge range of contacts and Alvyn Pettersen, our Vice-Chair for his sage advice. It is good that he will be Acting Chair for the next twelve months until Bishop Christopher Hill takes up the position in October 2016. Christopher retired as Bishop of Guildford two years ago and will bring huge experience to the post as Chair.

An excellent programme is under preparation for 2016 which you will receive early in the New Year.

David Jennings 12 October 2015

3. Treasurer's Report on 2014 Accounts

The meeting accepted the Treasurer's Report for 2014 and formally adopted the Accounts as previously circulated, without dissent. The Accounts were then signed by the Chairman.

On behalf of the Meeting the Chairman thanked the Treasurer for his Report and work during the year.

4. Election of the Chair.

The Meeting elected the Reverend Canon Alvyn Pettersen to chair the Forum between 1 January and 31 December 2016, and Bishop Christopher Hill to take over the chair with effect from 1 January 2017.

5. Election of the Committee and Officers

A list of nominations for the Committee had been circulated. There had been no further nominations from Members. The following members were elected to the Management Committee. The Chairman asked all those proposed for the 2016 Management Committee to stand as their names were read.

President: Rt Reverend Martyn Snow, Bishop of Tewkesbury

Chair: Reverend Canon Dr Alvyn Pettersen

Secretary: Professor Kenneth Davey

Treasurer: Fred Bach

Membership Secretary: Arthur Burgess Programme Secretary: Dr Deborah Jones

Dr Dee Carter Dr Rob Cook

Reverend Dr Alison Evans

Reverend Canon Michael Irving

6. Appointment of an Examiner of Accounts

The meeting approved the continued appointment of Michael Krier nem con.

7. Retirement of Rt Rev David Jennings

The Reverend Canon Pettersen, Vice Chair, proposed a vote of thanks to Bishop Jennings for his five years' service to the Forum as its chair, paying tribute to his warmth and effectiveness. This was unanimously accepted.

The AGM for 2015 was then formally concluded. There followed the Montgomery Lecture given by the Reverend Doctor John Bell, Minister in the Church of Scotland and member of the Iona Community on Rediscovering the Bible as the Peoples' Book.